What Can Brown Do for You

Nothing too exciting here, but the cool thing is that I scored this little dress at The Red Circle boutique ( Target ) for less than the price of a cup of coffee.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I love me some Target!!!!!!!!! Note excessive use of exclamation points.

It needs something a scarf, a vest, a necklace….something, but I was so excited by how cute and how cheap it was that I just couldn’t wait to wear it.

So tell me Style Mavens, how would you jazz it up?

Dress – Converse One Star – Target
Sandals – Franco Sarto
Day two of the return to the Blog – Priceless:)

This entry was posted in Brown, Day Dress, Sandals, Target. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What Can Brown Do for You

  1. Hannah says:

    I love this outfit! Please tell me you scored this dress recently and there may still be some available? 🙂

  2. Joy says:

    I love this dress! I have got to get myself shopping more at Target. The sandals are GORGEOUS! You look marvelous!

  3. Shybiker says:

    I like Target, too. Is that a remote shutter-release I spy in your hand?! (I use one, too!)

    I admire your poses. I study them and wish I could imitate them better: yours are natural and graceful, while mine are stilted and awkward. I wonder if you have any conscious memory of when and how you learned this. Probably not; you probably picked it up subconsciously during childhood, right?

    • Interesting question….hmmmm, I guess I’ve always just been a girlie-girl. I took dance lessons as a kid so that probably contributed a bit. I’m also in the healthcare field so posture and body mechanics are things that I think about. On a silly note, I do watch my fair share of America’s Next Top Model. I think you are doing great! Just keep doing what you’re doing and I’ll bet it’ll come. Look how far you’ve come already!

  4. Shybiker says:

    Hi Doreen. I want to thank you sincerely for the sweet comment you just left.

    My greatest dream in life is exactly what you suggest: to be allowed to be myself in the real-life company of others. I’m tiptoeing toward that dream but, still, find it beyond my reach. The friends I mentioned in the post are accepting of this aspect of me up to a point, but I don’t want to push my luck too far with them. I don’t think they’d be comfortable doing what you propose.

    Someday I hope to meet open-minded and compassionate people who can accept this idea and allow me to be myself in a real-life situation. I’ve *never* had that and don’t know if I ever will. I’m afraid to even wish for it.

    • I understand what you’re saying and it makes total sense. Do you think you are comfortable talking with them and saying just what you expressed to me, that this is your wish and that you don’t what to make them feel uncomfortable? Perhaps its something to work toward and think about. Speaking for myself, I find life so much easier if I know what the people I care about what what, sometimes I can’t help them with their desire, but on the other hand sometimes I can:) No harm in ask ing right? Right ! No don’t feel like I’m pushing you to do something that feels wrong, just trying to support.

      • Shybiker says:

        Thanks for the advice, buddy. The difficult thing is I’ve known these women for over a decade and, for all that time except this year, they viewed me exclusively as male. This female-aspect is new to them and they already had an impression of me which this contradicts.

        Ironically, I find it easier to ask things from people who are new to me because they don’t have that history and settled assumptions about who I am. Plus, with a new person, it’s okay if they can’t accept me and leave; with these old friends, I love them and would never do anything to make them uncomfortable.

        Thank you for the feedback. It helps.

  5. I think this dress fits you fabulously and if you wanted to punch it up a bit, I’d say yellow, bright blue, red or even a raspberry would look fabulous. I like the neutral look too though. I don’t do neutrals well so it’s something I always admire in others.

Leave a Reply

