Remembering…..

Memorial Day means a nice long weekend filled with backyard parties spent with family and friends, but what I don’t want to forget today is the meaning behind this day.  The supreme price that many brave men and women made for us and for our freedom.  Lets not forget the sacrifices made by their loved ones as well.  So I’ve made a special effort today to pause and whisper a prayer for those folks and for all they did to make all of our lives better.  Godspeed Soldiers, Godspeed.

This is a war memorial for New Hampshire Soldiers lost at sea.  Ever since I was a small child I’ve thought that “sea lady” was so beautiful, and today even more so because I understand the meaning behind her.

I know this is a fashion blog, so on to what I wore on this sunny, warm, perfect weekend.

How bout that belt?!  Sparkles like fireworks eh?!  ( See how I’m working this whole theme of  holiday weekend in this post;)

I’ve been looking and looking for madras shorts and could not find any anywhere …enter Brett, the lovely and ever stylish maven behind Silvergirl, she found these at Old Navy in the men’s section.  I trotted right over to my local Old Navy and ta da, my madras dream come true.

V-Neck Tee – Gap
Madras print shorts – Old Navy – mens ( I did need to get them hemmed up a bit).
Belt – Gap
Freedom – priceless gift from the men and women of our armed forces.

This entry was posted in Beach, Bermuda Shorts, Madras Plaid, Memorial Day, navy. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Remembering…..

  1. Thank you so much for writing this post. My little brother served two tours of duty in Iraq and while we are grateful everyday that he made it home safe, a lot of men and women don’t and it’s absolutely important to remember them.

  2. Paula says:

    Love the length of those shorts! Perfect! Paula

  3. Shybiker says:

    Great outfit. Looks really cute on you. And I find it amusing when women “cross-dress” in men’s clothing. 🙂

    • Ally, thats kinda funny, I never thought of it that way. Its funny how society says women wearing mens wear is okay, but there is such a taboo on the tables being turned. We humans are a crazy, abritrary bunch.

  4. UN-stitched says:

    That statue is beautiful. I love these pics of you and wow – your figure is beautiful! Looks like you had a fun weekend, and I feel the same as you did – American pride!
    xo Christine

  5. UN-stitched says:

    I forgot to tell you that Joy and I must beg you to join the conversations on Twitter. You would love it! It is so fun conversing with other bloggers during the day and if you hook up your account to you iphone or BB, it’s so easy! OK, just trying to convince you!
    -C

    • I must confess I’m a bit of a twitter dufus, I do have an account, but I’m so confused with all the lingo and symbols. Id really need a twitter lesson before I’m be comfortable. Care to teach?

  6. I think you’ll like Twitter once you get the hang of it. No pressure (LOL).

    What gorgeous photos! The shorts are super-duper cute on you!

  7. Polly says:

    I bought those shorts on silvergirl’s recommendation too. They fit great! Actually come up to my waist ( although they are long).

    • If she only knew what a fashion inspiration she was with those shorts. All my friends love them too. Thanks for stopping by my blog Polly, I really like company 🙂

Leave a Reply

