Lets Get Cooking

As I continue to struggle with all the rain and cold, and have zero in the way of inspiration for outfits I’m going to once again distract you with my house.   Look, it’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s the house again.  Now I love me some interior design almost as much as I love fashion, but my budget does not allow for fancy-pants decorators, so I muddle along as best I can with the skills that I have.

Here is the kitchen when Ad-man and I bought the house several years ago. Snoozy, ho-hum white:

I did a little DIY project to add some color and interest.  The counter tops where a lime green ( much brighter, and uglier then they look).  Yellow compliments green right?  Right???

Ouch, that hurts the eyes a bit doesn’t it.  Sorry folks.  It’s like an art project on a bad acid trip.

Remodel FAIL!  I mean it’s got color and all, but not in a good way. Although you can’t kick a girl for trying.

We then went to plan B and did some pricing for a new kitchen,  cabinets, counter tops etc.  Yowza, can you say sticker shock.  It was going to be close to 35K, and we didn’t want to sell a kidney for Petes sake.  Enter Handy Dad.  My dad can do just about anything, so he and I went to work on ugly kitchen.

Even THAT looks better.

We decided to pick a softer more muted paint color, something in a light khaki green and ended up using Benjamin Moore Crown point sand. The lime green formica counter-top was replaced by tile in earthy tones.  Dad made me new cabinet doors without that 80’s curved panel.  Some new hardware, sexy under-cabinet lighting and  BOOM, you’re done:

Here’s a view of the other side of the room.

Before:

And after:

The whole project cost us less than 2K. Granted Dad and I did all the work, but it was fun to spend quality time with him and now the kitchen is not only much more aesthetically pleasing, but it’s filled with happy memories of my Dad.  Thanks Dad you ROCK!

This entry was posted in House. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lets Get Cooking

  1. Shybiker says:

    ooooohhhh…. nice….

    We renovated our kitchen (and other rooms) last year and spent a gazillion dollars. You accomplished a lot for practically no money. Nice work!

    • I’m really really happy with what we did on a shoe string budget. I wouldn’t change a thing. Thank goodness I have something to distract you all with when I have zero in the way of outfit inspiration. I really appreciate you reading even my non-fashion posts.

  2. I’m quite happy to be distracted with your house. I think you and your Dad did a fabulous job!

    And, belated Happy Birthday!!!

  3. Wow, what a great transformation. I love the recessed lighting & stainless steel appliances! It must be wonderful living in such a cozy nest! 🙂

    • It was not the brand new cherry and granite kitchen from a magazine, but this one is even more special to me. Its filled with memories of time spent with my favorite dad 🙂

  4. Doreen, Did I miss your b-day?

    • My birthday was yesterday, but you couldn’t miss it, as you had no way to know it 😉 It was a lovely sunny day filled with surprises from all my friends. Here’s to another grand year!!!

  5. Kari says:

    That is soooo nice Doreen! I actually kind of liked the first try … I want to see a close up of that sun on the wall — it looks really neat … and Happy Happy Birthday! Us Gemini girls rock! It’s my birthday tomorrow. I am so buried under in work that I want to cry though. And I have graduation number 2 of 3 on Saturday. I have just been eating, sleeping, and working. Quite literally. Right now, I feel like the walking dead. Sorry. I’m rambling. I love your pictures.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Doreen it was fun working with you on your kitchen it looks GREAT love Dad

Leave a Reply

