My Guiding Light

That pretty little pixie on the left is my Mom.  Things between she and I have not always been easy.  If you are a daughter or have a daughter I’m pretty sure you’re aware that the road can be a rocky one.  Independence can be hard to forge when your teacher is not in total agreement with your choices.  Looking back I can see that she was ALWAYS right, but youth is a crazy time and sometimes reason can not be heard.  I’m just glad she cared enough to keep trying to keep me on the right path.

When I look at these pictures from her own childhood, I can’t help but get a lump in my throat.  She didn’t have an easy life, and what she went through could have made other less strong people bitter or hateful, but she didn’t get that way, she chose to let go of the past and make a better life for herself and for me.  I’d say she was a huge success.

After graduating from high school she and my Dad got married.  That was the summer of 1961.  They’ve been very happily married for 50 years this July.  How’s that for inspiration?!

Last spring we all went to Florida, and I must say that was the best few days of my life. It was great fun to spend time relaxing and playing with the people who are responsible for the women that I’ve become. 

Mom always says that she needed to play “bad cop” to my Dad’s “good cop” role, but I think they both gave me just exactly what I needed.  Mom’s my go-to person when I’m not sure about an important decision or am wounded and in need of healing.  She knows just how to put things into perspective.

I hope that she knows that I’m so proud to call her my Mom, that she picked the perfect guy to be my Dad and that I’m blessed to have the wonderful little family that she made for us.

So Mom, today is the day to honor you and all the sacrifice that you’ve made for me. You have been a constant source of strength and encouragement to me. If I havent told you recently… I’m thankful and blessed to call myself  your daughter!

Happy Mothers day to all the hardworking Moms out there.  Your love makes the world a better place for us all.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Guiding Light

  1. Joy says:

    What a beautiful post! Your mother is lucky to have a wonderful daughter like you! Fabulous photos, Doreen. 🙂

  2. Shybiker says:

    What a lovely tribute. You won the Mom Lottery.

  3. Anonymous says:

    OMG! this post could have been written by me to the last letter! There’s nothing at all that is not me, my dad and my mom and the way we relate! We are about a decade younger but that’s all the difference.

  4. Kari says:

    very nice post, Doreen. I hope that one day my daughter will have such kind things to say to me (she basically hasn’t spoken to me for 3 years). She just turned 18 a couple of weeks ago.

    • I’ll bet she does. Mom and I had a few really, I mean REALLY tough years. But I think all of that made what we now have even better. Hang it there…..I suspect your daughter will one day realize what a gift her Mom has been:) Love always wins!

  5. Kari says:

    I dunno … I have kind of lost hope. She doesn’t have a dad who helps the situation, which is why we’re divorced. He undermined me the entire time we were married, and then he moved three doors away, once we were divorce. The better to keep my eye on you. He went to court to try and get the kids removed from me, when that didn’t work — he just worked on their emotions. My older two were old enough that it didn’t work. But my youngest?

    • That’s tough stuff. Family issues can sure be hard. Mom and I went through a rough patch, and by rough patch I mean that we did not speak for 6 + years. Neither of us was wrong, we’re both just stubborn and headstrong. I truely believe that love will win out. Maybe not today or tomorrow, but one day she is going to realize that Mom loves her and has her back. She’s still young and probably thinks that she doesn’t “need” you. But with age comes wisdom. Keep the faith and I think she’ll come around. *sending good vibes*

  6. Shybiker says:

    Hi buddy. Want to follow up on your comment today.

    I *hate* the Yankees. Hate them. I’ll root for anyone playing against that Evil Empire. For years, I rooted for the Red Sox for precisely for this reason. Plus, I went to law school in Boston (BU) and remember a game at Fenway Park where I saw Carl Yastrzemski (at the end of his career) pinch-hit a home run in the 9th inning to win a game.

    I was also a huge Manny Ramirez fan. I followed Manny after he left the Red Sox and went to LA to play for the Dodgers. Then he went to Chicago (White Sox) and later to Tampa Bay where he retired this year.

    So, you see, we have no conflict at all!

    • I knew I liked you;) I’m not a big sports fan, but the exception to that is my beloved Sox. I’m particularly fond of the 2004 team – right down to Kevin Millar that loveable goof-ball. My love runs deep for obvious reasons 😉 That pitcher in your blog post looks a bit like Pedro. You went to BU – how cool is that?! Do you ever get back to boston?

  7. Paula says:

    Just a beautiful post, Doreen! She should be proud of you~Love, Paula

Leave a Reply

