Construction Chic

While the workers where out back talking with Ad-man, I quickly snapped these photos.  Sneaky….

This blouse is new and it has a ruffled collar, something I don’t usually wear.  Having a blog has pointed out to me the styles that I, for whatever reason don’t seem to be drawn to. Ruffles clearly fall into that category.  Have you Mavens noticed any similar trends in the course of your bloggy adventures?

Ruffled Neck Blouse – Talbots
Hot Pink Cardigan – Gap
Black skinny pants – Gap
Sandals – Nine West

This entry was posted in black, button-down shirt, Cardigan, Ruffles. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Construction Chic

  1. Kari says:

    I’m not a ruffly sort of person either, but this looks really good on you (it’s just the right amount). I like it, and I like the color of your sweater. I can’t get over how long your legs look!

    • I was worried and the shorter length pants and that they would cut my leg line and make he look stumpy, so its good to hear that that’s not the case. The issue with the ruffles is kinda funny, because I’m a pretty “girlie” girl – I’ve also noticed that I don’t have many floral prints in my closet either. Hmmmmmm.

  2. Allyson says:

    I’m feeling just a little overwhelmed right now with how much I love those shoes. *fans self*

    Also – I really like the way this collar looks on you…something about how it draws the eye upward. And the way you’ve rolled the sleeves over the cuffs on the cardigan. This is really a spectacular look. I think you’ve mastered “effortless chic!”

    • Thanks Allyson. I need you to know, that I read your blog daily, but your commenting system is not supported by my work computer. I’m not sure whats up with that?! And I can’t very well ask our IT people to look at it;) Do you have an e-mail that I could use to comment directly? Its painful for me to get on the computer at home, after sitting in front of one all day long.

      • Allyson says:

        Well that’s terribly frustrating! I’m so sorry, and I know just what you mean — the last thing I want to do when I get home is spend more time in front of a computer! Thanks so much for reading though — what a wonderful encouragement. You can always email me at decodingdress {at} gmail {dot} com.

      • It happens with all the blogs with that comment system. It makes me nuts, but I’ll adjust. Just wanted you to know that I read daily and love your blog!!!

  3. Joy says:

    Doreen, Too bad you couldn’t get the workers to pose with you. 😉

    I LOVE this outfit. As you probably could guess, I adore the ruffles — which look fabulous with the hot pink. I agree with Allyson – the collar draws attention to your lovely face. And the shoes really make it all work — instead of demure you’re modern, funky, and feminine!

    • I almost used the title Ode to Joy, because I KNEW you’d approve of the girlie girlie ruffles 😉 And no one has EVER called me demure, so I’m glad I look funky and feminine!

  4. Bella Q says:

    I am a big fan of cleans lines, so ruffles rarely capture my fancy. But I’m all about making exceptions to exceptions. One think for sure- that pink is a stand-out on you- you look fantastic in the bold colorful hue!

  5. Jodi says:

    wolf whistle.. bet the construction guys were watching you!!! lol… love it.. you are so fun!! xoxo J

    • LOL – nope, I was hiding from them. I still can’t take pictures in public, and I see great locations on a daily basis, but just can’t seem to get up the nerve.

  6. Shybiker says:

    I had renovations done on my house for two years (ending last year) and know all too well the feeling of invasion you hint at. Whenever the workmen would leave, I’d heave a sigh of relief and finally relax. It’s hard to relax with workers milling about.

    The ruffles look good on you. As does the brightly-c0lored cardigan in my favorite color.

    Blogging has definitely opened my eyes to new clothes and trends. Now, I play with dozens of things that were invisible to me before. I love that about blogging.

    • Not to mention that cash that flies out the door – its cutting into my shopping budget:)

      The ruffles are sure growing on me – if this keeps up I’ll soon look like the top of a wedding cake.

      Blogging is so much fun – the best part for me is the new relationships I now have with my friends inside the computer. Thanks so much for you kindness and daily visits. It means more to me than you know.

Leave a Reply

