Robin Redbreast

 

There have been several robin sightings in our backyard,  a sure sign of spring.

 

 

Momma bird is busy,busy,busy these days….

 

Ever wonder why they are called redbreast and not, say orangebreast….well, wonder no more:

“The distinctive orange breast of both sexes contributed to the European Robin’s original name of redbreast (orange as the name of a colour was unknown in English until the sixteenth century, by which time the fruit of that name had been introduced). In the fifteenth century, when it became popular to give human names to familiar species, the bird came to be known as Robin redbreast, which was eventually shortened to Robin”.  via wikipedia.

So dear bloggy friends, lay awake pondering no more. You’re welcome 🙂

 

 

Sweater – Liz Claiborne via TJ Maxx
Tan pants – Gap Outlet
Scarf – T J Maxx
Boots – Franco Sarto

This entry was posted in Orange, Scarf. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Robin Redbreast

  1. Joy says:

    Nice photos! The bird picture is lovely, too. I love birdwatching, so thanks for the ornithology lesson. 🙂

  2. I wasn’t curious about the “red” vs. “orange” until you mentioned it, then I was completely curious and you immediately answered my question. My generation loves instant gratification, so thank you!

    Also, I love this outfit on you; the sweater and the scarf are amazing together.

  3. Kari says:

    I really like the colors in your sweater! Really really pretty. Did you take those pictures of the robin? wow! what kind of a camera do you have?

    • Kari, thanks for the kind words! Yes, I did take the picture. I think its all about the equipment. I have a Nikon D40, and for that shot I used a 55-200 mm lens. She was nesting very low in the tree and would just glare at me, but never fly away. I was afraid to get too close, didn’t want her to leave her eggs unattended.

      • Kari says:

        I’m in the market for a new camera. I have a really nice one, but the motion thingy on it broke — I have a Sony A100. I don’t need that to work unless I take action shots, and it’s kind of expensive to fix, so I’m thinking that I might just get another one … I almost think that my Sony was too much camera for me though, and I never really felt comfortable with it. sorry. I’m rambling.

      • My D-40 is “more camera” than I need too, but I figure go big or go home. And that will push me to learn and grow into it.

  4. Jodi says:

    Love those colors on you. and WOW did you take those robin photos? they are really good!! LOL
    xox J

    • Many Thanks Jodi, I did take the robin shots. Been Playing with my 55-200 mm lens. Its astounding what you can do with the correct equipment. I’ve got the photrography bug BAD.

  5. Kari says:

    I referenced this look in my latest post — I hope that was ok.

Leave a Reply

