Our Own Red Carpet

As Oscar night approaches, it’s got me thinking about real life “red carpet” moments. We ordinary gals will probably never be dripping in Van Cleef and Arpels jewelry or Versace couture gowns, but that’s okay because life is filled with special moments of our own – things that mean something and will be memories that we’ll always carry in our hearts, if not a gold statue to sit on our mantel.

That said, I love me some baubles and love to see what other women wear. It’s fun to know the stories behind it. Who gave it to you and for what occasion?  Was it acquired on a once in a life-time vacation. Perhaps it’s a family heirloom?

Here’s what I wear most days….

Watch – Michael Kors
Venetian link bracelet – Tiffanys
Cape Cod Bracelet – cute little shop in Provincetown Massachusetts

 Bracelet – David Yurman

Ad-man and I showing off our wedding rings.  We where both over 40 when we got married.  Who says that women over 40 can’t find love.  It’s totally not true. 

I’ve not found myself in need of a gown except this particular today.  My red carpet was a sandy beach in Jamaica….

No paparazzi in sight, but one very sweet man and the promise of love and support and fun adventures ahead…..

Better than an Oscar any day!

This entry was posted in Ad-man, Jamaica, jewelry, wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Our Own Red Carpet

  1. Bella Q says:

    You just pulled a tear out of my sentimental eye! Gah. Was not expecting that. The close-up of jewelry are wonderful…I love seeing an expression of a part expressing the whole which is probably why I love detail shots in photography.
    Then the gorgeous pic of your hand. While my mind was appreciating the compisition and the lovely hand shot (and freaking gorgeous ring-a-bling-bling!) my heart peeked at the picture of you on the beach in your wedding dress on…goodness gracious, a tear rolled out. Damn it! I am not a softy for marriage photos, or marriage, so I am guessing the purity and sincerity of the post- and how the photos capture what real joy you were celebrating at that moment. A bride at 40? Perfect timing in my book. And most definitely better than any red carpet roll-out.
    the Citizen Rosebud

    • Hello there Ms. Bella Q. Thanks so very much for the sweet comment. I’m so damn new to this, and I feel like I’m fumbling around a bit in the dark with only a bic lighter. I’m still working on finding my “voice” as it where and not terribly comfortable with it just yet, but this post just sorta spilled out of me. It was a long road to Ad-mans door, but I’m happy I went on all those bad blind dates cause the end result was worth all the banal chit-chat with strangers. Thanks for taking a moment to bolster this newbies confidence, it means so much more to me than you know!

  2. Joy says:

    What a beautiful bride! I’d rather see photos like this instead of the Oscars any day.

    The bracelets and rings are so very pretty.

    I think it’s actually quite common now for women to find love after 40… I have a few acquaintances and friends that married about that age. (Not that a woman needs to be married to “find love.”) But how wonderful that you have your “Ad man!” (LOL – that name made me laugh.)

    • Thanks so much Joy. Have I told you how nice it is to have someone to talk to here at Northeastchic:) I’m feeling so much less alone…
      Yeah, life sure does not end at 40, in fact I’m so much more comfortable in my own skin now, and care less about what others think of me. My quest for love was a long and sometimes pretty funny one, but all ended well. Now of course it’s work, but work that’s worth it. I call him Ad-man here for several reasons, he works in Advertising and we met on Match.com. So a double meaning there.

      Enjoy your day my new bloggy friend! Doreen

      • Joy says:

        “I’m so much more comfortable in my own skin now, and care less about what others think of me”

        Isn’t that the best?! I hear it gets better! 🙂

      • Its the great gift that lifes gives us as we get older. Can you imagine what a valuable tool that would have been to have in high school?

  3. Joy says:

    I know what you mean. I don’t think I’d want to live my teen years over unless I could have the confidence/wisdom of my older years!

Leave a Reply

