Hippie vs. Preppy

In High School and College my style was definitely preppy.  After all I did grow up in New England and back in the day that was the default style.  As I get older I’m drawn to the styles of the late 60’s and early 70’s, flared leg pants, clogs, graphic tee shirts and funky jewelery. This outfit certainly has that vibe.  Ad-man and I took a trip to San Francisco a few years ago and visited the Haight-Asbury district. It’s filled with lots of cool shops, internet cafes and artistic murals painted on the sides of buildings.  The peace-and-love vibe just fills the air.

If you ever find yourself in San Fran, do check it out.  Buy some incense, there’s nothing like the smell of patchouli to help you channel your inner love child.

Graphic Tee – Lucky Brand
Sweater – Gap
Organic Cotton Jeans – Gap
Clogs – Me Too
Necklace – Lucky Brand
Peace and Love – Free to give and take 🙂

This entry was posted in Clogs, Flared-leg. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hippie vs. Preppy

  1. Joy says:

    Hi! I know what you mean about being preppy. I still like the look — (I’m a New England, too!)

  2. Joy says:

    Oops, I meant New Englander. 🙂

    • Did you have one of those reversible fabric purses with the wooden handle? And remember wearing polo shirts with the collar up:) ? Those where some good times!

      Thanks a million for stopping by!!!!

  3. Joy says:

    Ah, memories. I forgot about those wooden handle fabric bags — loved those. I remember having a brown courderoy one.

    Preppiness is alive and well – one staple of my spring/summer wardrobe is the polo dress (I’ve updated the look by wearing the collar down). 😉

Leave a Reply

